Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I couldn’t help post this series of images, before I truly had a chance to sit and give you the full story and details of my new favorite potatoes. What makes them so special is, the fact that they are sautéed with the gorgeous and sweet red cipollini onions. I have tried potatoes many different ways, as I am sure most of you have too, but when I tell you that this recipe rocks your savory taste buds in a new and exciting way, trust me, it’s not smoke and mirrors. I found my self a few weeks back at the Union Square Farmers Market, and I bought a few of these little gems, but never got the chance to use them in anything. Well, I’m glad I waited and happy that I got the chance to use these guys up in such a small but creative way. It’s one of those moments where you’re looking for something to make and want to jazz up a tried-and-true dish to make it a tad more special, but aren’t sure what to do to reach that end. Well, these onions did just the trick and I knew they would.

Ingredients:

4 Med/lg Russet Potatoes

1 Bunch Cipollini Onions

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Kosher Salt

Fresh Cracked Pepper

1/8-1/4 Peperoncino

2 Tbs Butter

4 Garlic Cloves

4 Sprigs Fresh Thyme

2 Sprigs Fresh Rosemary

1 Tbs Fresh minced Chives or Parsley

1 Large Oven Proof Skillet

Directions:

Peel and cut into 2 inch pieces the russet potatoes. Set aside. Blanch the cipollini onions in boiling water for 3-4 minutes to losen their paper. Peel the paper from the cipollini onions, with a paring knife or your chefs knife. Cut the root end and the tops to make removing the paper easier. Add the potatoes and onions to a large bowl and drizzle generously with the olive oil, fresh cracked pepper, kosher salt and peperoncino. Crush a few garlic cloves with the back of your chef knife or the palm of your hand, and add to the bowl. You can leave the paper or skins on the garlic. I do! Adds flavor and a great look to the dish. Very chefy thing to do. Toss the ingredients to coat well with the olive oil and the other spices. Sprinkle some additional salt and fresh cracked pepper. Heat a large oven proof skillet or black cast iron fry pan. I use a 10″ Lodge fry pan, that is to me at least, an indespensible tool in my kitchen. They are the perfect skillet for making just about anything from roasted potatoes, frittatas, tarte tatin’s  and even a perfectly roasted chicken. I just recently purchased a 12 inch Staub fry pan in graphite, that I am in love with. Either of these two pans work great for this application. A stainless steel fry pan works just as well. Some I would recommend are made by either All Clad, or Calphalon, as these too are oven proof. I digress! Once the oil has come to temperature, toss the potatoes and onions into the pan and spread the ingredients out so that the make contact with the bottom of the pan. You are looking to get good color on the potatoes and onions (caramelization). Keep moving the potatoes if they are getting too dark on either side. Once you are satisfied they the potatoes have reached a medium golden brown color, add in the 2 tbs of butter and allow to melt. Toss the potatoes and onions to coat with the butter. Place the skillet or fry pan into the oven at a temperature of 400 degrees. Roast the potato and onions till cooked through and crispy and golden brown. Serve immediately and sprinkle lightly with a good finishing salt like Maldon’s sea salt and the chopped chives or parsley. Enjoy these with a good steak or roast chicken.