Tags

, , , , , ,

french sourdough_web french sourdough3_web french sourdough4_web french sourdough5_web

sourdough 7_web

rye sourdough bread_web

french sourdough6_web

It was cold, it was snowing and in the end, it poured. What I did on my Saturday afternoon and Saturday night one might ask?! I made bread, I broke bread, and I ate lots of bread. I guess some would call me a Pillsbury dough boy, but that’s a moniker I’d rather not have to live or identify with thank you very much. I like my name just fine! Continuing on, It’s been sometime since I first contemplated the idea of baking, kneading, prepping and learning all that there is in the world, about the finer points of great bread making. Woot! I say; I did it. Scratch that off my bucket list, at least for now. Albeit, this trek for me, is not yet over though. As my dangerous foray into the netherworld of puffing and rising dough, is only yet begun, and beginning.

Plans are in the works today, to prepare yet another one of these fine culinary anomalies, this afternoon, and evening. What can I say, it’s a long prep for God sake. I digress, the trick today, barring pulling a rabbit out of my –bleep! is to execute a long ferment, or slow ferment in the refrigerator, over night: 18 hours roughly. It’s called “delayed fermentation, or retarded fermentation”. It is said to create a better chew and better flavor by allowing the yeast and flour the time to meld and create better flavors over night. Can’t wait! This is gonna be a good one. Umm umm! Not that the last one was bad I tell you. Right then, off to the market to pick up more flour.

So all of the above, from going to the market and baking off another loaf, was done. I am very impressed with both loaves. They were different in the texture of the crumb, with the latter, having a tighter crumb, while the first loaf I baked, had a bigger or wider crumb. They are both wonderful and make amazing breads. The difference in the crumb width, is due to the amount of water introduced during the mixing process, and also, to a large degree, the kneading process.  As you introduce more bench flour, to keep the dough from sticking to the counter or board, you consequently dry the dough a bit, making for tighter crumb. Ciao for now!

