Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So the other day, I was asked by my client to cook him up a few dishes for the week, but in order to do that, I needed to make some room in the freezer. So while I was tossing food out that had been sitting in the freezer, I came across this perfectly fine veal chop. I recall shopping for this veal chop sometime during the summer; possibly August. In the end, I didn’t toss this veal chop, but instead, decided to take it home and check it out and possibly make it. It was kept in a zip lock back and was definitely frozen and also had some ice crystals on it, but for all intents and purposes seemed fine. But in the end, after thawing it out, it was the perfect chop and I was glad that it didn’t make the trash bin and instead made it to my kitchen for testing (devouring). The moral of most food stories or the old adage is, “When in doubt throw it out”! In this case I’m glad I didn’t. This chop was a perfect 2 inches thick. I rinsed and patted this chop dry with paper towel, and allowed it to dry in a cold fridge, almost like you would a cold dry age, but I didn’t use any cheese cloth soaked in salted water. It just worked. But of course, it was only kept in this state for 2 days and I wouldn’t recommend it for longer periods than that. Okay end of that.

Directions for making the perfect roast veal chop:

Large Skillet

Kosher Salt

Cracked Pepper

3 Thyme Sprigs

1 Rosemary Sprig

3 Garlic Cloves

3 tbs Olive Oil

2 tbs Butter

If chops are bought fresh from a reputable butcher and or market, then there is no need to rinse them. If however, you are not sure of the source of the chops, then on the other hand, a good rinse is always a good idea. And if so, pat them dry thoroughly before applying any seasoning to them. Place them on a dry plate and season both sides with plenty of kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Drizzle with extra virgin olive oil, and rub the flesh with freshly smashed garlic cloves. (I don’t always do the last step, but it adds a great fresh flavor). Place rosemary and thyme or your favorite herb on top of the chop and heat your pan. I don’t season my chops (veal), until I am ready to cook them up. If you season too early the salt will draw out the moisture and dry them up. Lets face it, we want to maximize flavor. Once the pan has come up to temperature, pour about a table spoon of olive oil to your pan and then add your chop. Do not move them around or play with the food. You want a good sear and the only way to do that is to leave the chop alone and allow the crust to develop. After 3-4 minutes turn the chop over and place the herbs on the bottom of the pan and add the butter. Once the butter has melted, baste the chop using a large table spoon by tilting slightly toward you, to coat the chop thoroughly with the butter and oil. Place the pan into a very hot oven at a preset temp of 400 degrees, for an additional 6-8 minutes till done. Serve with your  favorite sides, like roasted potatoes or rice pilaf or even a great salad.

