Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

tomato confit 1_web

A tomato confit you ask?! What is it? it is simply put one of the simplest ways and best ways to enjoy tomatoes on just about anything from pasta to pizza, you will ever experience. I made this today, to go with a pitza, idea I had today. And it lived up to every ounce of tomato goodness I was hoping it would have. Glad I took the time to shop for these very inexpensive tomatoes late last night on my way home from the gym, because these truly made the pitza, the perfect meal. A confit is a method of slow cooking or poaching a food product, in this case tomatoes, in an oil for a long period as a way of preserving the product. I didn’t wait to preserve these tomatoes as these were summarily eaten by me in a delicious pita pizza, I call, a “pitza”!

Ingredients:

1 pint of grape tomatoes

2/3 cup of olive oil or olive oil blend (canola and olive oil)

2 sprigs fresh rosemary

1 sprig fresh thyme

small sauce pan (2 quart)

Instructions:

In a small sauce pan (pot), place all of the ingredients and bring to a simmer, without boiling. Start with a low heat, and if the oil still seems like it is boiling some, lower the heat yet still, to reduce the bubbling. You want to have a small amount of bubbling from the oil, but it should be a gently simmer. Poach for at least 30 minutes, till the tomatoes are just wrinkled and soft. Remove and allow to cool before using and storing. I used these right away today to make some pita-pizzas that were absolutely amazing. I will follow up this post with the recipe a bit later today. Enjoy!

