Tags

, , , , , , ,

So after a good long work out which takes me to almost 10:30 pm tonight, I decide on dinner. But the entire time I’m working out I can’t seem to get my mind off of food. I know I have these amazing red beans at home, but I need some kind of animal protein to compliment them. So I take a ride on my bike after my work out to the local Food Town and what should I see in the poultry section?! But these gorgeous little game hens or cornish hens as they are called. And the price was unbeatable at just under 5 dollars. I had solved my dilemma and knew just what I would be having for dinner tonight. And boy was it good.

Ingredients:

1 Cornish Hen

Kosher Salt

Fresh Cracked Pepper

Garlic powder (optional)

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

3 Sprigs Thyme

2 Lemon Wedges (optional)

2 Garlic Cloves (optional)

Maldon Sea Salt

2 Feet of Butchers Twine

Instructions:

Remove hen from packaging and remove giblets. Rinse the cavity of the hen and pat dry with paper towel. Allow to rest and temper for at least 20-30 minutes. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. On a poultry board or counter top or plate, season the cavity of the hen with kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper. Place the lemon wedges, 1 to 2 sprigs of thyme, into the cavity along with 2 garlic cloves that have been mashed with the side of a chefs knife, but do not remove paper. Season the body of the hen with kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper, and just a bit of garlic powder (optional). Truss the hen with the butchers twine. Heat a 10 inch skillet with 2 tbs of EVOO, or canoloa oil. Place the hen into the skillet to brown and caramelize the skin. Brown evenly all sides: from the breast, back and sides. Place a roasting pan or small gratin dish into the oven to preheat while you are browning the hen. Once browned (slightly) place the hen into the oven to finish cooking (roasting). Browning is of course optional, but a good idea as the bird is small and can over roast if left too long in the oven and also a good way of creating a crispy skin, before roasting. Drizzle a bit of olive oil over the breast and a couple of sprigs of thyme, before placing into the oven to roast. Roast at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 20-30 minutes. You want an temperature of 165 degrees Fahrenheit taken or read with a meat thermometer at the thickest part of the thigh. The juices should run clear when the thermometer is removed. Remove from the roasting dish and allow to rest for at least 15 minutes before carving or serving. Enjoy!

