Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So yesterday, I invited a good friend over for breakfast which included crêpes, pancake syrup and butter and what I thought would be a perfunctory discussion of the mother of all hurricanes ever to hit NYC, Sandy. However, after a quick rethinking of what I would consider the perfect condiment, for the crêpes, I decided to make a quick mixed berry compote. (Pancake syrup just wouldn’t do!). What can I say, other then, this was the ultimate indulgence for a French style crêpe. My neighbor (friend) cracked me up after she suggested that she bring over a jar of Nutella. I thought wow! what a great idea! But after opening the jar and observing its contents, I noticed that the jar was in fact empty. All you can do at this point is stick your finger in the jar and retrieve a single fingers worth of Nutella for the licking. (hmm! sounds graphic). I guess she had too much time on her hands and couldn’t resist the creamy hazelnut chocolate tempting her one evening. Well, I might be exaggerating a bit for dramatic effect, but you get the idea. She’s a glutton! But a very nice girl. Well, I thought mixed berry compote to the rescue. I need say no more! This was the perfect accoutrement for my crêpes. So good in fact, that, I had them again today for brunch. Can I get an amen!? Well here’s my recipe.

Ingredients:

1 pint strawberries

1 pint blue berries

1 cup sugar (white)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbs lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest (optional)

1/4 tsp cinnamon powder

1 pinch kosher salt

Instructions:

First start by rinsing your berries in cold water. If using strawberries, remove the green tops with a small paring knife. Cut the strawberries in half or quarter. It’s up to you how large you want them. I like a chunkier mix so only cut either in half or thirds. Depends on the strawberries size. Wash the blueberries under cold water and rinse of any debris. Place the berries into a medium pot, 3 quart sauce pot is what I use or what ever you have on hand. Add the sugar, vanilla extract, lemon juice, salt and cinnamon powder and mix well to combine the ingredients in the pot. Bring to a simmer mixing occasionally to keep the sugar and berries from sticking to the bottom of the pot and ensuring that all the berries cook down evenly. You are looking for a reduction and wilting of the berries. Some foam will form at the top of the mixture once almost cooked. Use a table spoon to remove the foam by skimming the surface. You want a clean smooth syrup with none of the foam. Turn off the heat once reduced and the berries have all cooked. Allow to cool some or use immediately as I do over some freshly made pancakes or crêpes, or your favorite vanilla ice cream. You can store in a ramekin or small bowl and cover with cling film and keep either in the refrigerator or counter top for a few days. It will last weeks in the refrigerator. I plan on using my batch up quickly so I keep mine on the counter. Cheers!

