Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So the past few nights have been for all intents and purposes, stressful, because of an unfortunate incident that took place recently. But without going into detail about any of it, suffice it to say that, I needed a good home cooked meal tonight made by yours truly. What was on the menu you ask!? Well in this case, I happened to have a can of Goya small red beans and a 4 oz fillet mignon. And of course, who can forget that ubiquitous accompaniment, a freshly made pot of white rice; made in typical Puerto Rican fashion. It was for me the only way to fly tonight! Lets face it, It’s what the doctor ordered. Well, that of course depends on the meal and the other accoutrements accompanying the meal. Cutting back, this was absolutely amazing and I was happy to make it for my self and very happy to share my recipe with you. This recipe is dedicated to my amazing sister Elaine, whom I love and adore with all of my heart. I am happy I had the chance to see you yesterday. Enjoy!

Note:
Typically Puerto Rican beans are not made with chipotle or jalapeno pepper, however, this is my take and spin on the recipe. It’s an amazing addition and one you should try.

Recipe:

1 can Goya small red beans

5 sprigs cilantro

1 1/2 tbs extra virgin olive oil

1/2 medium onion

2 garlic cloves

1/2 tsp kosher salt (or to taste)

fresh cracked black pepper

1 small can tomato sauce (hot chili or plain)

1 small jalapeno pepper

1 tbs chipotle sauce

Instructions:

Prep your mis-en-place of onion, garlic, jalapeno pepper and cilantro by dicing and mincing all of the above ingredients. In a 2 quart sauce pan (pot), heat up the olive oil (low-medium heat), and add the onion, garlic, cilantro and jalapeno pepper and sautée for  3-4 minutes. Add the tomato sauce and cook for another 4 minutes. Add salt and pepper and chipotle sauce. Add the small red beans. Now here is where there is some debate as to whether or not to discard the liquid that the beans are packed in or use the beans plus the liquid. I personally use the entire liquid and find that the flavor is more intense and better. The beans release their starch and proteins and the liquid is full of the bean flavor. It also, acts as a thickener. Once the beans are placed into the pot, fill the can with cold water and add the water from the can to the pot. It’s kind of old school cooking and was the way my mom taught me, and I still use this simple yet reliable method. (It just works!). Season with salt and pepper. Lower the heat, and cook for about 20 minutes till reduced and beans are cooked and tender. Check your beans for seasoning during the cooking process. That’s it! Enjoy!

