Tags

, , , , , , ,

While home and getting much needed rest, as the doctor ordered me to, I decided that the only remedy to my cold would be a lovely caramel laden pear tarte tatin, a la mode, to fix me up. Well, the doctor part is not true and completely fabricated, but I bet you’re all too clever for my shenanigans and have already figured that one out for your selves. Alrighty then, the truth of the matter is, that I am completely and utterly in love with this tart (so is my aunt Nellie), and I just had to have one tonight. There! I’ve confessed. Who needs chicken soup, when you can have one of these instead with a scoop of your favorite ice cream, drizzled with warm caramel sauce. That’s how I roll any how! Now I will scurry off to bed, not to hurry, but I must get some sleep tonight. So off I go and I will finish this story and recipe tomorrow when I’m all better. Night night! Day 2

Ingredients:

5-6 bosc pears

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

fresh cracked pepper (optional)

1 stick butter (unsalted)

1 pie crust home made or prebought (Pillsbury)

Directions:

Peel the pears and cut off the tops and bottoms of the pears. Cutting the bottoms makes for a flat surface to stand the pears on. With a sharp knife, cut the pears in half, from the top to the bottom. With a table spoon or melon baller, remove the seeded center by scooping it out. The pear should now have a hollowed out center. Also remove the stringy thread that runs from the seed center to the stem or top of the pear with the tip of the spoon. In a large skillet, ( I use a 10 inch cast iron pan) add the 1 cup of sugar and about 2 table spoon of water to get the sugar melting, using medium to high heat. Once the sugar is melted and starts to take on a golden caramel color, add the butter. You can cut the butter into chunks or slices to make the melting process easier and quicker. Once melted, lay the cut sides of the pear slices in the pan side by side, and allow to cook for at least 4-5 minutes. Sprinkle the salt and cinnamon over the pear slices, and if you’re like me, a tiny bit of fresh cracked pepper. (That’s my special touch). Using a table spoon or small spatula or off set spatula like I use, flip the pear slices over so that the cut sides of the pears are now facing up and the rounded parts are facing down. Cook for an additional 4-5 minutes till the pears have taken on some color and are golden. Now for the pie crust. Lay a single round pie crust over the top of the pears making sure to tuck the pie crust edges down into the caramel to hug the pears to form an edge around the pears. This part is very important, as this will keep all of the juices and caramel sauce from spilling over the pie and running off of the plate once cooked and inverted. Place the tart into a preheated 400 degree oven, and bake for 20-25 minutes until the top of the pie crust, which will really be the bottom once inverted, is a golden brown color. I also like to sprinkle the bottom of the pie crust just before placing into the oven, with a little bit of sugar and cinnamon. Please check out my blog post on pie dough making and rolling. Coming soon. Done !

