Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So tonight was a great night I thought for a warm hearty soup, as the weather is truly frightful out there, and it’s so warm in here. I thought that the perfect cheap and inexpensive way to make a quick comfy and cosy soup, would be to use up what ever is laying around in the fridge. Well, I didn’t have to look far nor hard, as this perfect belly warmer is just what the doctor ordered to nurse my self back to health. It’s a warm potato soup or as the French call it a vichyssoise.(This soup is typically served cold). This soup is also, typically made with leeks and of course, potatoes. I omitted the cream and instead finished it with a knob of butter and a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg. But like I said, I used what ever I had in the fridge and found some onions that could in a few short days, become fodder for my pictorial project I call, “dead food”. I much prefer to enjoy this soup while lounging in bed, but I couldn’t resist the temptation to shoot some pictures and turn it into a blog post: about this easy and delicious soup. It hit the spot tonight just perfectly and I can’t wait to get off of this computer and have a bowl of it. This serving has a Fontina cheese floating island (Ile flottante au fromage) and is garnish with a couple of cilantro sprigs. It just melts in your mouth when you spoon it up. What a perfect addition and flavor surprise this little piece of cheese adds to the soup. I invited my good friend and neighbor over for a bowl and I served it with a wonderful tuna melt, that I jazzed up with chopped cilantro (theme here), and lemon zest and juice, some fresh cracked pepper and kosher salt. I will follow up with the recipe later today. Right now I must take a break and nurse my self with some soup.

