Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When I’m on the run, like today, I enjoy (just) having a rich and flavorful, healthy smoothie. And I have to tell you this recipe is full proof and easy to make in minutes. Sometimes I don’t want to have a full lunch that will feel like I’m weighed down. What better way to get your nutritional requirements in a glass than with a delicious smoothie. It’s a meal in a glass. Note: the last smoothie was made with frozen blackberries, note the color!

Recipe:

1 bunch of fresh or frozen strawberries (about 7)

1/3 cup of fresh or frozen blueberries

7 frozen blackberries

1 banana (optional but I use when available)

1 small cup plain or vanilla flavored yogurt

1 tbs honey

1/4 cup milk

1/4 orange juice

4 ice cubes

Directions:

In a blender toss in all of the above ingredients and blend till smooth about 3-5 minutes. I freeze my berries so that they are always super cold. I rinse them before using, but I never rinse them prior to freezing as they will turn to mush. (I place and store my fresh berries in zip lock bags and squeeze the air from the bags and freeze). Remove the tops of the strawberries by pulling off the green tops or cutting off with a pairing knife. You can get creative with this recipe and use what ever fruit you have on hand. I’ve also used mango and peaches and works just as great. Today I didn’t have banana and just used the berries and it was so perfect. Will definitely have one again for lunch tomorrow or even breakfast. Oh, you can also add in a small amount of your favorite protein powder for added nutrition. Enjoy!

