Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Today was one of those days, where I was looking for something, anything to shoot. Some of you might know me and some of you might not know, that I eek out a  living as a photographer. So the point of this essay or project was to not only illustrate the deliciousness of this ingredient and or condiment, but to also satisfy the photographer urge to point my lens at some kind of food creation; big or small. So here I thought to make one of my favorite little condiments that can go over so many different proteins, from fish, poultry, pork, beef and game: venison, bison, boar etc. I did have an uncooked pork chop from last nights offering and thought why not make a gremolata to accompany my entree. It was the perfect topping for a perfectly prepared chop. (In addition I made an onion and garlic sauteed rice cooked in a chicken bouillon broth with diced carrots.) Ingredients are accessible to most home cooks and foodies, as I am assuming most of you keep a larder or pantry of basic ingredient as I do, for just such occasions. I.E. parsley, garlic, lemons, salt and pepper. In Argentina, a similar preparation is made for marinating meats, or as a condiment to put over steak, called “Chimichurri”. This version however, is made with the addition of olive oil, pimenton, red chilli flakes and oregano. Gremolata preparation: mince a garlic clove and  finely mince a small handful of parsley and zest 1/2 a lemon. Combine with a bit of salt and freshly cracked black pepper and you have an amazing condiment to accompany your dish any time.

